Little Biggs’s Blog

Busy Weekend Ahead

Posted on: June 11, 2009

Today was a loooong day.  We had a doctor’s appointment first thing this morning.  I got tested for Group B streptococci.  We heard the heartbeat and we went over lots of questions Jason and I had compiled over the week thanks to baby classes.  We talked a lot about labor and delivery, vitamins, drugs, doctors, and future appointments.  I have weekly appointments with her from now until the birth.  Except, she will be on vacation two weeks, so I see two other doctors.  Which means I have her 3 out of 6 appts if I make it to my due date.  That will mean I have seen her 6 times in 9 months and other doctors about 15 times.  That’s why we asked, “What is the probablity that you will not deliver our baby?” and she answered, “Fair.”

I like being in control (I know you are all loudly agreeing with that statement).  But, this pregnancy, labor, delivery thing really is my chance to realize I am in control of NOTHING.  It’s all a big unknown at this point.  I don’t know when it will happen, how long it will take, how bad it will hurt, what doctor will be there, what I’ll decide to do about an epidural, how Jason will react or what gender of baby will come out.  I don’t know anything!  Although part of not knowing really scares me, mostly I am learning to go with the flow.  If I can’t control it, why stress trying.  At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

Jason is home right now being a good daddy and priming the nursery for this weekend.  The fumes are not good for me and I had work to make up from missing this morning, so I’m up at the office until the house airs out a little.  I did tape off the nursery last night so I could have some help in the final product even if I can’t be around fumes.  I am so excited for Debbie, Debbie, Lindsey, Mom and Grandma Ruby to come this weekend.  We are going to conquer that nursery and have fun at the shower Melinda, Amy and Kristin are throwing for me.   It might look something like this when we are done: Nursery

Probably not much like that, but I’ll have pics of the whole process on the next blog.

Jason flies to San Marcos in the morning.  Girls Weekend, here I come!

2 Responses to "Busy Weekend Ahead"

Not being in control is hard! But from everything I see, you are taking it all in stride and doing great. I’m sending you lots of stressfree/calm vibes. Can’t wait to see this nursery!
P.S. I still have pictures from the shower…working on that!

I’m thinking of you, and I am here to help in any way I may be able. Even if the chances of Phillips delivering is “fair” there is still an “excellent” chance that it will be a good one (since 5 out of 7 are pretty darn good)! God really will take care of you. I know you know that, but I also know from experience that it is still tough to trust sometimes! You’ll be great!

Leave a comment

June 2009
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Monica Larsen on We’re Moving
abigail on We’re Moving
myvanityfair on Little Biggs is Born!
Carol Mosley on Pictures of the Bigg Week…
Amanda, Kyle and MaK… on Pictures of the Bigg Week…

Photos